There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a debate on excluding physical education and cookery from the syllabus to concentrate on academics only. I firmly believe the statement and agree to ease down the pressure on students by not adding these subjects that do not produce substantial outcomes in your academics. It is important to understand the importance of physical education and cookery could benefit the certain individuals based on the interest level. For example, if the student is planning to pursue his career in accounting or healthcare then there is no need to learn subjects that would not add value in future. It is just the matter of adding the extra pressure and diverting the focus on those subjects. However, they would eventually compromise their studies and as a result they will be behind to achieve the desired score. It is also need to understand that achieving the real outcomes in exams is not the ultimate goal. Understanding and gaining the knowledge would help them to land a position where students can excel and benefit the company they are working for. To cater this dilemma, education system must keep these two subjects optional for students and let them decide whether a student is interested to opt the subject or not. To conclude my essay, I have a strong sentiments and stand in support of removing physical education and cookery subjects from the syllabus or at least leave this choice on students to ease the pressure of acedemics on them.