most people have forgotten the meaning behind a traditional religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is true that the main reason for habitual festivals is forgotten and that people attend these ceremonies for more recreational purposes. While I agree that it has become more common to have fun during festivals, I believe that there are still some commitments to traditions that lead to peopl's appearance. On the one hand, I think, festivals have their roots in the past when people had to arrange them to protect their lives or even be safe from religious punishments although they may not have that much seriousness for today's generation. For example, in some traditional tribes, members had to present a symbolic prayer for god in the spring to offer their admiration as well as respect and therefore guarantee the survival of their lands and cultivation in the following year, otherwise they might lose yields. In comparison, nowadays people have no need for such a festival to protect their lives. On the other hand, despite considering festivals as ways of enjoyment, people are still participating to celebrate annual traditions to confirm with whatever their ancestors believe. Take mourning as an instance, modernized people may not mourn as deeply as their old generation did for an old well-known person or they may even see it as a recreative event, but they also show their respect and give importance to its religious aspects by gathering and doing symbolic mourning. By doing this, they not only protect traditions and customs from being vanished but also promote them to be in the minds of future ones. In conclusion, although the main aspects of presenting festivals may become vivid and people have fun during the festival period, there are still firm beliefs about them in their minds.