In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing population?

With the medical advancements, it is a predictable outcome that people who reside in industrialized nations have increased longevity. However, this social trend inevitably brings multiple problems to individuals and society, making actions to mitigate these issues more urgent than ever before. It is undeniable that if life expectancy is increasing, there will be a vast majority of people who are eligible to receive pensions. This means governments must allocate an adequate amount of funds to maintain various systems of aged care such as hospitals, residential cares, and nursing homes. Consequently, potential financial constraints resulted from more governmental spending on the elderly, coupled with simultaneously reduced public expenditure in other areas of infrastructure such as education and transportation, would pose a challenge to social welfare system. As for individuals, they would find it harder to strike a balance between work and family responsibility. In fact, many aged people suffer from chronic diseases such as hypertension, fracture, or senile dementia, which make their self-reliance more difficult. As a result, it has become an ethical dilemma for younger generations to look after their senior relatives while ensure the competence in the job market. To reduce the detrimental effects of ageing on society and individuals, governments should be primarily responsible for designing some initiatives to change the status quo. Firstly, the economic burdens beard by society could be resolved if retirement age was increased. By doing this, governments could benefit from circumventing a huge number of pensions by artificially reducing the ageing populations. In addition, more labour forces can also generate more tax revenues that are essential to support tremendous costs of social welfare in the aged care. Another measure to tackle the issue of ageing is to encourage the immigration. One of the reasons why ageing has always been a challenging social issue is the labour shortage in the sector of aged care. In contrast, immigrants can serve to supplement the labour forces to enhance the welfare of senior citizens by filling the positions such as social workers, support workers, clinicians, and nurses. Therefore, this open immigration policy could liberate individuals from their family responsibility and then concentrate on their jobs. In conclusion, various measures can be taken to tackle the problems that are certain to arise as the populations of countries grow old.