University should enrol equal numbers of male and female students in all subjects. Do you agree or disagree?

In the modern era where efforts to eliminate discrimination prevalent, there is a belief that universities should admit a balanced proportion of male and female students in every major. While the essence of this notion is noble, which is to grant equal opportunity for all, I believe that tertiary education must choose their candidates based on meritocracy, not gender. Enrolling the similar numbers of students from both genders has its own merits. Such a choice can promote equal gender representation in higher education institutions. It is undoubtedly true that there are several majors that are dominated by males, such as Engineering and Business. For instance, in Indonesia, 95% of Mechanical Engineering students are male. Consequently, the engineering field is heavily influenced by the decisions of men, while women are seen to be incapable in this sector. Having more female students can potentially change this narrative. Nonetheless, we must bear in mind that tertiary education is intended to sharpen academic skills for all, regardless the gender identity. Hence, the consideration of students ' meritocracy must be prioritized. During the process of selecting students, the admission committee must solely focus on the academic capability of the students and ignore other aspects, such as gender, economic, and cultural backgrounds. While upholding the notion of the university as an academic institution, this practice also shows that the university adheres to a no discrimination policy. This method also shows how higher education institutions balance between preserving the essence of academia and the principle of equality for all. In conclusion, it is indeed imperative to ensure equality in an academic environment. However, enrolling the same percentage of males and females in all subjects is not a wise decision because it threatens the primary role of the university as an academic establishment. Instead, meritocracy must be championed as it is essentially a manifestation of promoting equal chance for all in higher education.