4.There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages as a form of assessment?

Many educational institutions, nowadays, tend to be shifting towards conducting annual examinations, rather than having frequent assessments to evaluate performance. In my opinion, there are pros and cons of both situations. I believe the annual assessments will challenge and unleash hidden skills, nevertheless, there are potential mental health problems for learners because of a stressful test environment. To start with, there are two main roles associated with this tendency. Firstly, when schools conduct examinations, learners are more prepared and motivated, and they put their best foot towards performing better than their peers. For example, surveys have proven that the inclusion of examinations has inspired students to put in more effort and perform well in their academics. Secondly, there will be an increase in self-confidence among undergraduates, whenever exams start, they tend to push themselves beyond their potential and unleash hidden skills. In particular, it will lead to an increase in self-confidence levels and make them ready to face challenging tasks. Despite these advantages, there are a few downsides connected to this trend. The pressure of exams might lead to anxiety or depression due to the gravity of the information and knowledge they have to acquire. For instance, if they perform poorly, they do not have the opportunity to prove themselves. Moreover, this might lead to long-term stress disorder, and create a serious problem for both families and undergraduates. In addition, the time and effort required in preparation may limit their availability to focus on personal development. For example, the time spent studying means less opportunity to develop social skills. To sum up, in my opinion, I believe it is a good thing to have a challenging assessment environment, however, students might need to mix with other activities to reduce stress after this period.