Learning english at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught many are at risk of dying out. Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and if so how?

In recent times, many schools across the world have prioritized teaching the English language to their students when compared to local languages. I unequivocally believe that learning English is vital to survive in the real world. However, I also believe that kids must have an underlying knowledge of their local language, although they need not be proficient in it On the one hand, the majority of businesses and communications across the world happen in English. Furthermore, it has been the standard language used by many universities. This way, students from any part of the world can attend any university of their choice, just by being proficient in English. For instance, approximately 3 million people write IELTS every year to prove their cohesiveness and proficiency in the language, as it is a basic requirement for pursuing work or studies abroad. On the other hand, as the world is technologically advancing at a really fast pace, many regions are facing losses in their cultural heritage. Subsequently, local languages are becoming extinct slowly. One way to stop this negative development is in the hands of the government. Laws can be placed on schools to segregate 3 hours a week to teach local languages. As a result, children will start using them in day-to-day conversations and the languages will not die out. In conclusion, priority must be given to English and schools must start teaching the language at a young age so that they become proficient by the time they are adults. Additionally, importance must also be given to local languages as they add to cultural identity.