Illiteracy has traditionally been viewed as largely a third world problem. However, it is becoming apparent that in countries such as USA and Australia illiteracy is on the increase. Discuss some possible causes and effects this phenomenon has on the society.

In the contemporary world, being illiterate has become one of the major global setbacks, due to that, other countries such as the United States Of America as well as Australia are recording more illiteracy. One of the major contributing factors is not only lack of funds but also peer pressure. The detrimental impacts include poor development of a nation. To begin with, lack of money for education is obviously one of the causes of illiteracy. The vast majority of parent find it arduous to send their youngsters to school due to poverty as a result, depriving them of schooling where they could improve in communication skills. To illustrate, research conducted at a reputable university two months ago revealed that sixty per cent of people do not communicate well because of poverty which prevents them from schooling. This means folks would be free from illiteracy if the government gave juvenile access to education from basic to junior high free. In addition, peer pressure influences is also another cause. Some bad attitudes of an individual can prevent mankind from attending school. Parent must guide their wards when opting for friends. There are numerous effects to this trend. First of all, a country's growth decreases if a majority of its citizens are illiterate. They tend to do menial jobs which do not improve the economy. Moreover, its education system is at risk. This means the nation would not produce brilliant students to support the growth of the country. In conclusion, although, illiteracy is soaring especially in Europe. Its causes include lack of funds as well as peer pressure influences. Its effects include poor development of a country. However, this trend could be curbed if the state as well as parent play their role which has been stated in the above paragraphs.