More people decided to have children in their later age than in the past. Why? Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Nowadays it seems to be a common trend that people decide to get children at a later age than in the past. But is this advantageous? Previously women mainly had two duties; childbirth and raising offspring. They were wed at early ages and gave birth usually before becoming sixteen years old. In those days it was very advantageous. Most of the population didn’t get that old due to undeveloped medicine and the chance that the child grew up healthy was small. So the more offspring you had, the more they could provide for you later. However, all these things aren’t problems anymore in today’s society. People grow older, we have health care, pensions and kids don’t die as often. Right now people seem to be more focused on themselves and their careers. This can be very advantageous since they are able to provide for their children so they e.g. are able to go to college. Furthermore, it helps them define more who they are and what they want in life. I have acquaintances who had kids before they were 20 and the child seemed to get in the way of their own life sometimes. They still want to travel, see the world and discover new cultures, which is harder when you have a child both from a financial and practical aspect. Nevertheless, there are also disadvantages when people get pregnant later in life. The main problem is the health issues for females in labour. After 30 years old their bodies become less capable of giving birth and the chance of complications gets higher. In conclusion, I think for our society nowadays it is more advantageous to have children at a later age. Our society has changed a lot and has laid the focus first on themselves.