Friendships can be very meaningful and special, but also very complicated. What are the qualities of a great friend? What are some things that can weaken a close relationship over time?

Many believe that the relationships humans form with one other are distinct and special in their own ways. Although, friendships can be meaningful, the majority of relationships are complex and complicated in one way or another. In my opinion, there are certain characteristics that a friend must possess. Firstly, a great friend is someone who is completely true and transparent to a person. They must talk the truth at all times and must not sugarcoat scenarios to make one feel better. Secondly, they must learn how to maintain boundaries and respect it. For example, I've seen friendships break because one person falls in love with another, who just views them as a friend. Thirdly, they must be loyal and should not backstab a person in any scenario. Lastly, and most importantly, they should be trustworthy and must be willing to help during times of crisis. Sometimes, the friendships we cherish weaken over time. This is because people stop putting in effort after a certain period of time. Taking the other person for granted can easily break friendships. Additionally, a survey done by researchers at Harvard concluded that 80% of friendships are lost over time as people lose touch. For instance, people either move abroad to pursue education or work, or they could get married. At the end of the day, life goes on and our priorities change. In conclusion, we meet new people at every phase of our life and connect with them on a emotional level. That does not mean, we have the leverage to walk all over old friendships. We must constantly put in effort to make sure our friends are respected and feel comfortable at all times.