Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate.Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It has become a social trend that the role of museum is increasingly ambiguous. People begin to engage in a debate about whether the ultimate aim of museum is educational or entertaining. Personally, I tend to believe that the educational value of museum plays a more crucial part in both people’s daily lives and society. On the one hand, it is undeniable that various museums find it increasingly necessary to attract tourists by making their entertaining function more pronounced. In the era of digitalization and consumerism, people who are used to have a fast-paced lifestyle are generally reluctant to patiently spend their entire day visiting traditional museums where listening to oral instructions is dominant. In other words, if museums did not integrate more enjoyable elements such as interactive activities, visual stimulations, and spectacular effects into their exhibitions, the declining revenues would be inevitable. Consequently, to survive in a market-driven environment and gain more profits, museums should innovate their mode of operation and emphasize more on the purpose of entertainment. On the other hand, even though entertaining audiences is essential to maintain commercial competence, educational function of museum should not be ignored because both individuals and society could benefit from it. For individuals, participating in lectures organized by museums may enable them to enrich professional knowledge and broaden their horizons. For example, explaining dinosaurs’ fossils collected in museums would be a more accepted way for the public to understand palaeontology, a subject that is too abstract to understand in the traditional class. As for society, museums are indispensable to cultural awareness and critical reflections. It is a fact that museums of Aboriginal history can serve to advocate for the civil rights of indigenous Australians because these museums keep the evidence of inhumane treatments suffered by them during the period of colonization. In this regard, educating a society how to respect its cultural diversity and human rights is a significant responsibility for museums. In conclusion, I strongly believe museum should adhere to its educational purpose, despite the necessity of designing more intriguing activities to allure audiences in the context of modern lifestyle.