Parents should encourage their children to spend less time on studying and more time on physical activities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's age, children are expected to learn more and faster than in past centuries which leads to different decisions on their curriculum. Some opine that children should spend less time on academic activities and focus more on physical activities with encouragement from their parents. I moderately disagree with this initiative and will give my rationale in this essay. It is undeniable that both studying in school and doing physical exercise contribute greatly to the development of a child, but there needs to be a balance. For instance, if one only pursues academic activities and lacks social interactions and building strength from joining sporting exercise, both their social skills and health may suffer and potentially do harm to their future academically related career. Likewise, only devoting to sports and distancing from studying would not be beneficial because the fundamentals and basic knowledge are taught in school by qualified professionals which also are the building blocks preparing for someone entering the workforce. Thus, there needs to be a balance between learning in school and joining physical activities. Parents' encouragement is also an important factor that directs their children to choose which activities to fill their time but in order to arrive at a sound and logical decision, guardians of the child should have a long-term outlook for their offspring. However, some are more suited if they devote more time to sports because their outlook for the future is better if they proceed with that path. Encouraging a child to spend more occasion playing sports and less time studying is not applicable for every child but it should be on an individual basis. In conclusion, the notion that parents should encourage their kids to spend time more on physical activities and less time on studying doesn’t hold water and I moderately disagree with this notion because, for some, this development does show a positive impact.