Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole.Do you agree or disagree?

There is a social expectation that all teenagers should be forced to do unpaid work to improve the local community, which can enhance the well-being of both individuals and society. Personally, I do think participating in voluntary work in the local community should be justified because of several reasons. It is undeniable that unpaid work can provide young people with a valuable opportunity to cultivate their skills. In fact, to achieve daily tasks involved in community work, teenagers need to communicate with plenty of clients who have diverse backgrounds and character traits, adjust their negative emotions brought about by stressful situations, and reflect on what they can do to improve their services. These activities all require comprehensive skills such as critical thinking, resilience, self-care, and empathy. Therefore, it could be a predictable outcome that teenagers who regularly train themselves through these activities are more likely to be competent compared to their peers. In this sense, the advantages of community work outweigh the drawbacks. As for society, unpaid community work may contribute to the declining rates of juvenile delinquency and therefore more stable social order. I reckon the reason why youth crimes are still existing in our society is the lack of citizenship education among teenagers. However, voluntary community work would be an efficient pedagogical tool to gradually educate teenagers on the sense of social responsibility. This means that the more teenagers engage in volunteering work, the more likely they are to commit offences or threaten public safety. Consequently, social stability can be improved due to community work. In conclusion, I strongly support the proposal that requires teenagers to participate in unpaid community work. Not only can they acquire various skills from daily practices, but also can prevent the youth from committing crimes.