Nowadays in many countries young people leave rural areas to study or work in cities. What are the reasons for this? Do the benefits of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The youth today are choosing to relocate from rural communities to vibrant cities for the purpose of profession or academia. There are many factors that motivate them to make this decision such as better jobs and higher living standards. Although there are some disadvantages, this essay will argue the reasons why there are more advantages. The primary reason why many adolescents are following this trend is because of the benefits it provides. First, a populated metropolitan usually offers more job opportunities with higher salaries than other locations. For example, a countryside teacher is paid 40% less than an average teacher in the city. This is due to the fact that schools in cities have more children and thus the academics are paid more as per the number of students. Second, the quality of life in urban areas is higher; as a result, it attracts various teenagers. To illustrate, a metropolitan area has all types of transportation including trains, metro and buses among others. This means that everyone in cities can quickly and easily reach their destination, whereas, in the countryside, it would take longer. Despite the advantages discussed above, there are however some drawbacks to this decision. One of the major points is that they have to stay away from their families. When adolescents relocate, they are moving from their current home to another and most often, it is without their family for plenty of factors. For instance, they are not earning enough to care for families yet, and if they are students then they are not making any income at all. So for many, homesickness is a real issue that causes severe mental frustration and as a result, rural youngsters who followed the trend are reportedly scoring low in their studies. To conclude, there are merits and demerits for the youth who are shifting to metropolitan areas from less populated locations for work or education. Regardless, the essay discussed stronger benefits such as the importance of better opportunities and higher living standards; these reasons outweigh the issue of homesickness.