In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In the contemporary world, more and more people choose to leave their hometown and move to the cities which leads to rural population decline. Personally, I think this urbanization trend should be seen as a negative development. On the one hand, big cities always appeal to people with such things as various career opportunities, and services. This is also the reason why moving behaviour is not an old-age story. To be specific, a recent study found that half of the migrants in Vietnam (49.8%) move from rural to urban areas. Cities like Ho Chi Minh, Ha Noi, and Da Nang have become a magnet to attract people from rural areas, primarily driven by the desire for job opportunities and access to essential amenities like healthcare and education. However, there are evident issues associated with the migration mentioned. Firstly, the population density poses a lot of unwanted consequences. As students and workers pour into the metropolis, there will be a higher demand for accommodations which leads to the higher cost of renting, and living in smaller rooms, and in some cases, those places are not qualified for Fire Fighting and Prevention. Secondly, a threat of spreading diseases among individuals living in the cities, especially contagious ones. For example, the COVID-19 pandemic has strongly affected the urban population, because of their living habits, even though they have put all these cautionary protections on. In conclusion, the rural-to-urban migration might include some attractive aspects that people would like to pursue. In my opinion, it is vital to recognize the undeniable drawbacks present in this trend, particularly in terms of safety and living conditions.