Despite health warnings, a large number of people continue to smoke all over the world. Why should we be concerned about this? What solutions could you suggest?

Majority of masses around the globe keep on smoking regardless of the continuous health advisory being given to smokers. This essay shall delve deeper to discuss the reasons to be concerned about this plight and draw some remedies to curb this issue. To begin, people are bothered by this unprecedented habit of smokers because it is leading society to a dark phase. To elaborate further, people smoke at public places that affects others in two ways; first, it impacts the health of passive smokers. A report from WHO, for example, has revealed that being in the same room or closed environment with smokers increase the risk of lung cancer in non- smokers by 50% and in open environment it increases the risk by 20%. Hence, passive smoking can be deadly for all of us. Second, it allures others to indulge in the same habit of smoking. As, most of the youngsters start smoking just to look cool by seeing others to do so. Moving towards the solutions, there are many steps has been taken by states over the world to mitigate this problem however results have not been very progressive. Albeit this essay shares the same point of view as of the prime minister of the UK, Rishi Sunak, that is to increase prices of cigarettes by 1 pound each year and slowly and gradually most of the people would not be able to afford it. Moreover, governments have played a hypocrite in this matter at front they seem to be condemning this habit, but they have made smoke room in all the public places such as airports, metro stations and many more. So, government should take a firm stance and prohibit smoking completely at public places. To conclude, smoking is hazardous not only for smokers but also for people around them and for the coming generations hence authority must take some strict actions to ban smoking at public places and raise the prices to make it something out of the league for most people.