In some countries, a high proportion of criminal acts are committed by teenagers. Why has this happened? What can be done to deal with this?

Nowadays, there is a serious problem of juvenile delinquency in some countries, where teenagers significantly contribute to the local crime rate. Thus, this essay will explore some reasons underlying the concern and possible solutions to address this issue. To begin with, a family and school communities are mostly responsible for law infringements by children. The lack of positive role models frequently forces a child to commit a crime, because it seems the only way to be respected and loved. For instance, if a student is exposed to abuse by parents or suffers from peer pressure, he or she will more probably break the law. In addition, children from families, living below the poverty line, are inclined to commit minor offences such as shoplifting or car thefts in order to enhance their living conditions, buy fashionable clothes or more quality food. Unfortunately, the benefits of crime sometimes exceed the detrimental consequences for such children. When it comes to solutions, the governments can defend juveniles from criminalization, ensuring them with opportunities for education and socialization. For example, free-of-charge sports centres, libraries, community centres, and other social facilities can provide young citizens with a variety of recreational activities, ways to communicate and even get a first job. They will find new hobbies, make friends and comprehend prospects for their bright future. Furthermore, schools can organize lectures about crimes and invite criminals after their release to explain the aggravating circumstances of incarceration and reintegration into society in order to deter students from punishable misdeeds. In conclusion, teenagers often commit crimes due to mental issues, connected to their nurture, or the quest for money. Nevertheless, the infrastructure development for education and interaction as well as increasing awareness of the human cost of crime can spur children to grow up more law-abiding.