Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets, many small local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Supermarkets have become a necessity in society. However, the massive expansion of the stores creates debates about whether it hinders the local communities. I believe supermarkets do not affect the local communities as much as people think. In this essay, I would argue that small businesses have their own merits that would not be overturned by Supermarkets. To begin with, the target market for the supermarket is different. While small businesses usually focus on their low price, supermarkets offer something similar at higher prices. Additionally, supermarkets would offer a different option for similar products with different ranges of tags. For example, the supermarket would usually provide organic and non-organic options of the same product at different costs. Therefore, the target customer for the supermarket product would be someone with more money, time to spare to contemplate their grocery choices, and enjoyment to choose from the shelves. On the other hand, local businesses offer a smaller range of options, with better prices and sometimes superior products. For instance, the vegetables that are sold in the local store are fresher and organic because they are immediately picked from local farmers too. They also give better prices because they sell products without going through a lot of processes and hand. In conclusion, while supermarkets may affect small businesses because of their convenience, however, I believe that local businesses could also thrive because they have their own strength. Hence, the community should not be discouraged and continue to improve their business so that they can have healthy competition with the big markets.