We live in a world of technology these days. The internet brings with it clear advantages and disadvantages. Do the disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

The era today is known as the digital era thanks to the genius invention of the internet. However, not everyone agrees positively. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this debate and then provide the reasons why I think there are more merits than demerits. Firstly, the main advantage is that it provides instant information. For example, someone can make a quick Google search to find urgent information such as medical queries, legal issues or even a recipe for cooking. Another clear advantage is that global communication is easier due to video call services like Skype and Zoom. Anyone can talk to their family from anywhere at any time. This also leads to the third advantage that, information travels much quicker now than before. To illustrate, physical mail can take weeks or months to be delivered; however, emails or text messages arrive within seconds. This is why the majority is opting for electronic communication, thus making this generation truly digital. On the contrary, there are a number of disadvantages as well. First, there is no such thing as 'privacy' as a result of social media like Facebook, TikTok and YouTube. For instance, everyone is so busy becoming an influencer that they forget to respect their private life. This leads to dangerous consequences for their safety including a higher risk of being stalked. Second, the spread of online misinformation is another problematic issue; especially since it is increasing rapidly. The spread of religious hatred campaigned against Muslims in India is an excellent example of this issue. Therefore, the internet is also capable of causing harm as well as good. To conclude, although there are various demerits of the current technological advancements in light of the aforementioned discussion, I think the positives nevertheless outweigh the negatives. If there was no online help, then life would have been more difficult than it already is.