Theoretical subjects such as mathematics and philosophy should no longer be taught in universities because most university students choose practical subjects like accounting and economics. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a public voice upholding the removal of theoretical subjects such as calculus, algebra, geometry, and dialectics from the syllabus because a majority of students prefer to study practical ones. Overall, I tend to partly agree with this viewpoint. Admittedly, the status of those theoretical subjects has declined dramatically since the rise of neoliberalism which prioritises financial gains over spiritual pursuits. This social phenomenon is underpinned by recruitment standards in the current job market. For example, it is undeniable that those graduates who are equipped with practical skills such as preparing a balance sheet or analysing big data are more likely to be employed by reputed companies. As a result, it is a predictable outcome that most school leavers are reluctant to spend several years doing research due to the fear of professional incompetence after graduation. However, even though educational practicality is crucial to the consideration of course selection, the advantages of theoretical subjects should not be underestimated. In fact, engaging in a philosophical discussion may cultivate a wide range of abilities such as critical reflection, logical thinking, and clear speech. These skills are closely associated with professional development since they are indispensable foundations for a leadership role. As for society, the reason why a number of countries are still funding mathematical education is that their various cutting-edge technologies such as air-crafting and nuclear weapons rely heavily on this discipline. In other words, to maintain national power and even technological monopoly for some countries, it is unrealistic to abolish mathematics in universities. In conclusion, while I agree that theoretical subjects should not be too content-intensive because of their inability to improve professional competence, remaining these subjects in college is still necessary.