More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, many companies are suggesting their employees to work from home rather than commute to the workplace on a daily basis. Although there are a few negatives to this development, I unequivocally believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages for both the employer and the employee. On the one hand, from the employee's perspective, working from home saves a lot of time and money that is otherwise wasted due to travel. During this time, people can work more, thereby completing their tasks faster. Furthermore, employees would be working in the comfort of their homes, which has scientifically been proven to increase efficiency. Moreover, working from home would also be beneficial for the corporation in two ways. Firstly, they need not waste money setting up an office, in addition to paying monthly bills for basic facilities such as water, electricity etc. Secondly, they could hire highly skilled employees from any part of the world which would help in the growth of the company. For example, Zoho, an IT-based startup, saved almost $50000 in a period of 10 months after they adapted a work-from- home policy. On the other hand, employees could lose motivation or could get distracted easily. As a result, productivity is affected and the workflow slows down. More often than not, people become couch potatoes and lethargic without having anyone to keep them on track. For example, Hulu lost $10,000 in 2020 during the pandemic as working from home slowed down 90% of their operations, consequently losing a lot of clients. In conclusion, working from home could be a boon to both the company and the employee, but could also be a bane when the freedom is misused. Employees must have self-control, so that both parties are benefited from this set-up.