As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

While many think that making a surplus is the primary goal of businesses, I firmly believe that corporations should also recognise their social responsibilities. In this essay, I will argue that businesses should balance their pursuit of profit with their obligations to society, as this approach can yield benefits for both the companies themselves and society as a whole. On the one hand, maximizing profits is of paramount importance for the sustainability and development of companies. By earning huge profits, corporations could not only cover various expenses, such as employee salaries or operation costs but also have the opportunity to grow their business. For example, substantial capital is essential for companies to acquire state-of-the-art machines and processes to expand their production, thereby leading to improvements in both the quantity and quality of their products. This acts as a powerful testament to the indispensable role of earning profits in corporations. On the other hand, I think that companies should take social duties into consideration due to their colossal impact on improving businesses’ reputation and community development. Given the fact that customers these days attach greater importance to companies ’ commitment to sustainably develop the community, firms that invest in doing social projects tend to gain more trust and loyalty from the general public. For instance, major corporations such as Vinamilk or Unilever have greatly enhanced their public image through philanthropic initiatives, such as providing scholarships or giving charitable donations. Brand benefits besides, these actions have a profound impact on the underprivileged, offering them the opportunity for a brighter future and the chance to contribute to the community. In conclusion, although I agree that the bulk of corporations ’ aims must be gaining profits, I would contend that fulfilling social duties is also beneficial for establishments because it helps to increase brand recognition and has influence impacts on society.