Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To that extent do you agree or disagree

Many people believe that school must fully focus on academic work rather than teaching the students the basics of the other skills. Personally, I strongly disagree with that the best way to learn it would be with family and friends due to different reasons. on the one hand, students often have a range of 7 hours a day at school, which is a considerable amount of time and it should not be about academic learning only, because we need students to be able to participate in the social work which is required to build an aware generation. A good example to that is, a recent study conducted in the city of Jeddah illustrates that schools that teach their students the social work tend to have more productive students than schools that do not. Furthermore, families and friends are not supposed to have the knowledge needed to educate others, because such vital skills like woodwork can only be taught by experienced people to not cause any harm to the person. For instance, a friend of mine once was telling me his story about how he learned the woodwork, he said that they went on a trip to a village near the city where he lives, his father needed to cut the wood to start a fire but was unable because the lack of skill he had, all of the sudden his math teacher showed up and luckily he was there, he knew the basics of cutting the wood so he helped them. In conclusion, while people believe that learning skills such as dressmaking, cookery, and woodwork from school has no ideal benefit, I completely disagree with the claim due to the various of logical reasons.