In some countries many young people choose to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

It is said that in some nations, students after ending high school will take a gap year for travelling or work. The main benefits of this are gaining work experience and expanding knowledge; however, the key drawbacks are people may stop studying and think that university is not important. The main advantage is that individuals can get work experience. Doing a job will help people to know if they really like it, and if they want to do that job in the future. As well, this allows that in the future, when changing to another company, to have priority since they have had work before. Furthermore, travelling, allows people to understand and know more cultures and people so they are more open-minded. After visiting different countries, there may be a place that they really like, and want to live there in the future, this will make students have motivation when studying at the university since they have a goal. Recent research concluded that in Spain, the people who have visited more countries are happier and more open to accepting new things, and as a consequence have good university results. However, if too many trips are made, people don’t have the mood to study, the only thing that they would like to do is to go to other places, and going to the university is something that blocks them from doing what they want, it is a waste of time, and as a consequence, they will dislike university. The great disadvantage of working in the gap year is that some people will leave their studies. This is because they think that after 12 years of school, working is something new for them, they experienced new things and are not willing to go back to study, since they think that they are fine with the life they have. Studies done in the USA show that 80% of people that quit studying after high school, do not continue their studies. In conclusion, taking a sabbatical year will allow individuals to try different types of work, looking for the one they like and they can learn new things. However, there is a possibility that they will not study again and will not take university as something important.