Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people?

It is claimed that citizens do not visit local museums or historical sites, instead, mainly people from other countries will go to these places. This essay will argue that this is because of the different interests and carrying out some activities that can attract local individuals. The main factor is the different motivations between tourists and local people. Travellers' aim is to visit the countries and go to the most popular places, feel and watch the culture of those places, and learn something new and that is why tourists will visit museums and historical sites since they can get a lot of information in these locations. While the local people normally have knowledge about what can be seen, they have learned about it at school and have had personal experiences, so they would think that they don’t need to go to those places. For example, there are a lot of museums and historical sites in all European countries, where normally, only travellers will go to watch it, since they will only see it once in their life. A way to encourage natives to historical locations could be by adding activities. This can be exhibitions, cultural events or new products, this will help people to be interested in things that they have not seen before. Another way could be by reducing prices or free tickets provided in local newspapers and magazines. This is because since there are promotions, people are willing to go whenever they have time. For instance, in Spain, Madrid there are several museums that are free for all people at a given time of the day, producing large queues of people. In conclusion, tourists go more to historical places of another country because that is their aim; to experience and visit new regions, while local individuals already have knowledge about them. However, museums and historical sites could attract residents by adding original ideas and making promotions.