Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child's development while others think that it is important for children to go to school. Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Introduction Some would argue that homeschooling has more advantages than sending a child to school. I believe both have advantages and disadvantages to both methods of schooling. Firstly, many parents decide to send their children to public schools for a multitude of reason. These can include economics as well as an understanding that when children attend school it helps them to develop social skills and also teaches them how to interact with other people which will be necessary for their future. Sending children to school also provides an advantage to the parents as it enables the parents to engage in employment which helps them to support their families and generate income. The downside to sending kids to school can include the parents not having as much time to spend with their child to build the maternal and paternal relationships. Additionally a lot of schools are over enrolled which can detract from the child's education if they require extra assistance as teachers are overworked. On the other side of the argument some parents choose to home school their children. The benefits of this enable the parents to take a more active role in the child's life and the parents are around for the major milestones and developments that children go through. The disadvantages sometimes outweigh the advantages in this method as sometimes the children are not learning to a set curriculum that is required by educational authorities. Furthermore by homeschooling children it can impede their social development as they dont have the ability to learn social skills like children who attend a physical school. Also the parents are at home more which means reduced income from employment To summarise both methods of education have real world advantages and application and their disadvantages. This choice comes purely from a personal perspective and families need to evaluate which mode of education would best suit their unique family dynamic