3.Some people say that drug companies have a responsibility to spend money on researching medicines that will help people in poorer countries. Others say the main responsibility of drug companies is to make money. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Pharmaceutical industry earns enormous amount of money, annually. There is a debate over if pharma companies are responsible of dedicating a part of their budget for developing products for under-developed nations or they only shall make as much profit they can. Both ideas have relatively valid arguements, namely humanitarian responsibility versus shareholders interests. Drug companies are believed to be responsible for people. Since they make a large amount of money out of humans' well-being, some argue that a part of their income shall be returned. Not only do pharma companies pay their fair share in total humanitarian wellfare, they frankly utilize their contribution as a "social responsibilty " advertiesment campaign. The novel Covid-19 vaccines, for example, are developed through a time and resource consuming processes, but Pfizer-Biontech, Asterazeneca, Moderna, and other companies provided their vaccines almost with zero profit to the public or even free to poorer countries. Companies, in their core endeavour, are only responsible for the profit of their shareholders. This notion is an accepted idea throughout the modern financial era. Pharmaceutical companies are no exception. In a "Capitalistic" world, pharma companies earn large amount of money and, hence are attractive for shareholders. their expenditure on researches that have no return is a major drawback for stakeholders. Although I agree that companies shall make as much money as they can, and provide it to their shareholders, they have humanitarian responsibilites, too. Counter-intuitively, the process of providing help to poorer countries is actually a profitable one. Pharmaceutical companies express themselves in this process. Furthermore, a mere Capitalist idea has failed in humanity. In conclusion, while the debate over expenditure of pharmaceutical money in poorer countries is an open discussion, I totally believe that it is essential for such companies to provide zero-cost or zero-profit products to underprivileged nations.