Nowadays, most countries can improve living standards through economic development, but some social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of this phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the last two or three decades, the lifestyle of people has changed dramatically due to advancements in technology. These days, nations are in the race to improve living standards by improving economic conditions and ignoring social values. Although, there could be some drawbacks, according to me the positives hold more significance. To commence with, economic development has improved the lifestyles of individuals in many parts of the world. To explain, better economic conditions create more job opportunities and employment options for the younger generation which leads to a decline in poverty and helps to enhance living conditions. Moreover, the government is working for the betterment of their country by investing in technological advancements to provide more and more jobs and employment opportunities to encourage poor society to be educated and successful. Another worth considering factor is the tourism industry which contributes to a greater extent to uplift the economy of a nation. For example, many countries are taking advantage of their cultural and heritage buildings because a significant number of people from all parts of the world visit these places and contribute to enhancing the economic development of the nation. The money can be used to construct buildings and to provide food to needy people to improve their lifestyle. On the other hand, there is an argument that social values have lost their importance in the race for success because people are more into self-growth and don't understand the value of relationships which results in the decline of social- interaction and respect for others. In conclusion, while, the respect and value for relationships have declined with the advancements in life and economic development, I believe that improved standards of living and more employment options are more significant to decrease poverty rate and unemployment.