Some people believe that smart phones are destroying social interaction today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Mobile phones have become an indispensable part of our lives. There is a widespread belief that these technologies are the main reason for the destruction of social communication. I agree that smartphones are killing social interaction. In this essay I will provide some important factors which proves this statement. Firstly, most people tend to use smartphones as a form of communication because it is much easier than interaction in the real world. Even though it is more interesting and easier to use social media to communicate with other people, these kinds of interactions are destroying the willingness of people to meet with others in real life. A vivid example is the fact that most people choose to stay at home and use Instagram, Facebook and other types of social media which makes them addicted to smartphones. As they get less interested in real world interactions, they are getting more and more introverted. Secondly, some individuals prefer using their smartphones on special occasions to communicate with people. These days, when people meet to spend some quality time with their friends most of them, instead of interacting with others use their mobile devices. To illustrate, for instance, at my birthday party one of my friends was using his mobile phone to chat with his other friends while everybody was celebrating for me. In conclusion, I strongly agree that smartphones are the main reason for ruining social interaction as it makes people addicted to such devices and less interested in real-world communication.