We are facing great environmental problems these days. Some people say that personal lifestyle changes should be made to reduce the damage to environment, while other think that only the government can improve the environment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Environmental pollution has been a hot topic for a long time while, it has been argued whether people should change their lifestyles to weaken the harmfulness to the environment or government should be responsible for solving the problems. I believe that both citizens and governments should work together to address environmental issues. Humans should contribute efforts to protect the environment because their good behaviours can reduce the damage to the environment. It is widely known that emission from vehicles is the main factor to produce air pollution, therefore, Individuals can use public transportation instead of driving personal cars in order to reduce transportation emission. Similarly, individuals should stop throwing rubbish in public areas and start to categorize litter into different types in case it causes pollution to nature such as soil, ocean and forest. For instance, if plastic bags are thrown in the forest when people go hiking, the land in the forest needs thousands of years to decompose the plastic bags. Besides the actions taken by human beings, there are several effective actions which can be performed by governments to tackle environmental issues. Firstly, the government can enhance regulations and laws to stop unfriendly environmental activities. For example, the government can write the threshold of commercial and manufactural emissions in the regulation. Secondly, the government can impose high taxes on high- pollution industries so that they can reduce pollution discharge. Lastly, the government can encourage citizens to enhance environmental awareness through education and promotion so that people can acknowledge the significance of protecting the environment. In conclusion, both people and government can take different actions to reduce environmental pollution, as a result, tackling the environmental issues needs these two parties to work together.