Environmental protection should be the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some contend that politicians should be responsible for protecting the environment as there is nothing much that individuals can do about this problem. Personally, I disagree with this notion and I believe that the responsibility to protect the habitat should not fall upon only politicians because ordinary people can make significant contributions. On the one hand, it is undeniable that with a unique position in society, politicians can urge the government to enact and enforce strict laws and regulations against human activities that harm the environment. For example, one of the main factors contributing to environmental damage is the overconsumption of plastic bags and bottles. Under pressure from politicians, the Canadian government recently introduced a new regulation named "Single-Use Plastic Prohibition Regulation" as a part of its plan to protect the environment and meet its target of zero plastic waste by 2030. Accordingly, the Regulation banned all activities related to manufacturing, trading and importing single-use checkout plastic bags and food service ware made from or containing problematic materials. In addition, the deforestation rate can be reduced if governments agree to impose strict punishment, such as long imprisonment and heavy fines, on individuals who cut down trees illegally. On the other hand, I believe that ordinary people, by small and daily activities, can contribute significantly to protecting the Earth. To illustrate, citizens of several countries like the Netherlands have switched towards using bikes and subways instead of private cars which has so far reduced a remarkable amount of CO2 released into the atmosphere, improving air quality. Additionally, the problem of ocean pollution can be tackled by the fact that people tend to recycle the products they use and reduce their heavy reliance on plastic products. This is evident in the trend that the public started using straws made from fibre and metal to replace plastic ones. In conclusion, I hold a belief that politicians alone cannot deal with all environmental concerns. Therefore, individuals should make certain contributions to compensate for the damage they have caused to our planet.