Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Since the phenomena of widespread globalization started, the need for a common language for international relationships became evident. For historical reasons, English bacame the prime candidate to fulfill this role hence its impotance impotence as a subject in education grew accordingly. Overall, several local languages are at risk of dying out thus we should ensure their survilal because their influence on our identity is much broader that it might appear at first glence. On the one hand, langauges language are one of the main aspects of cultural identity and they are the first thing we come in contact with when we travel to a foreign country. It is important to understand that they do not translate perfectly to one another, a prime example of this can be seen by comparing European and Asian ones as they are so fundamentally different from one another starting from their very root, the alphabet, that our concept of translation is often inadequate to convey the message. Furthermore, it has been illustrated by several studies that the way we communicate has a huge influence on our brain characteristics and psychology thus erasing local languages would cause a loss of neural diversity in the world. On the other hand, the support for a common communication standard is mostly backed by companies and international entities as it is clearly the most efficient solution for their environments. As someone with an engineering background and a logical mindset, I often found myself alligned with this way of thinking but the more I spend time in internatinal contexts the more I see the value of my collegues and teammates thinking differently from me and approaching problems in different ways. In conclusion, the importance of teaching English in schools is paramount as it is a fundamental tool for an individual to navigate the world but at the same time the huge variety of langauges that exist and the consequences of this diveristy are too great to let them die out.