Many museums charge for admission while other are free. Do you think that advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

It is said that in some museums, people need to pay for the ticket while others are free. This essay would argue that despite it will limit access, it is far more advantageous to ask for money for entry to museums because it will improve individuals’ experience. Charging prices in museums will restrict entry to culture and knowledge for people from low- income. This is because museums are a valuable educational resource that allows people to learn about the history of their ancestors, but if individuals are asked to pay, some do not have the financial ability to use the money for these activities, and others are not willing to pay because they think that they should use the money in other more important things, such as for their house, food and family. For example, Spain has many charged museums and others that are free, recent research concluded that no charged museums have around 65% more visitors. However, I believe that the prices of tickets are not expensive and there are many reduced-price tickets and promotions, so this is not a significant drawback. The great advantage of paying for the entrance is that museums will have more funds to provide additional resources and facilities to people who visit the museum. Since the money that they gain can be used to add new products and improve services and educational programmes. As a consequence, visitors receive a higher quality experience, so they enjoy more and are more interested in learning new things. For instance, the museum Nacional Art Center Reina Sofia charges a fee of around 15€ per person, but there are always a lot of people waiting, this is because the museum has experts that will explain in detail all products and every week or month they bring new products so visitors can appreciate. Therefore, I would argue that the benefits of paying for the entrance to museums are more significant than the drawbacks. In conclusion, although some people cannot afford the ticket price, the museum will upgrade all its elements so individuals can have a better experience, for these reasons, the positives far outnumber the negatives.