Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the optimal solution to reduce traffic accidents is to raise the driving required age. Although I agree that this approach has some effects in the short term, I think a better solution is to impose stricter education and laws on driving offenses. On the one hand, I agree that increasing the minimum age for getting a driving license can be an effective road safety measure. In recent years, many traffic accidents were caused by young drivers, because youngsters are in favor of excitement, they drive at a fast speed or trespass on other cars on narrow roads, resulting in car accidents. By increasing the minimum legal age, young drivers in pursuit of fast and risky driving can be filtered out, hence creating a safer environment for all road users. Therefore, increasing the minimum legal age is a good way to improve road safety. On the other hand, I believe that there are more ways to improve road safety. Firstly, road safety education has to be strengthened at schools. By guiding and inculcating students with correct safety rules and regulations on roads, individuals will learn the importance of driving carefully and safely, hence enabling them to become safer drivers on roads in the future. Second, a more effective way to ensure road traffic safety is to impose more severe punishments on those who commit driving offenses. For example, local authorities should put in place stronger penalties for defaulting traffic rules, such as exceeding speed limits and not observing traffic lights. In conclusion, while raising the legal driving age can make our road safe ro some traffic problems, I believe that governments should certainly implement a range of measures to enhance the safety of the road.