Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the enviroment. What damage does plastic do to the enviroment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Plastic materials could be harmful to our environment in differerent ways, such as they cannot be broken down and stay in the environment for a long time. They also produce toxins, which can contaminate soil, water, and air. If the government and residents will dispose their waste properly or a sufficient recycling system, the risk affecting the sea creatures may lessen. To begin, since plastics are made from fossil fuels, disposing them are quite challenging as they do not break down easily even if hundred or thousand years have passed. Because of this, people try to find different ways of disposing them, such as burning them or throwing them in oceans or rivers. As a result, many sea creatures are ingesting the toxic chemicals coming from this material, which can be poisonous and may cause internal damage to animals. Furthermore, the extraction, production, distribution of plastics requires energy and water as well, which impacts our environment. To solve this issue, the government should create a policy for businesses to impose extra charges on plastic packaging to encourage consumers to bring their own reusable items when buying things. This has been implemented by many coffee shops and supermarkets in many parts of the world, not only that it significantly reduced the usage of plastics, but it also increased the awareness of people about the harmful effects of plastic in our environment. Moreover, educating individuals on how to properly recycle will definitely create a difference. In conclusion, disposing plastic materials in different bodies of water and landfill puts animals and our environment at risk as well our resources that are used to produce this. However, by promoting awareness and encouragement to recycle from the government, people may follow the movement and lessen this serious problem.