Only formal examinations, written or practical, can give a clear picture of students' true knowledge and ability at university level. Continuous assessment like course work and projects are poor measures of student ability. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that only formal examinations can properly assess students’ knowledge and ability at universities, while other forms of assessment are unaccountable measures. In my opinion, I strongly disagree that student’s ability or learning results should only be based on formal exams. Formal examinations are advantageous in many ways. They are believed to be a fair systematic scheme to test each individual student equally. People who advocate formal examinations trust that students’ effort and ability can be clearly reflected in their marks. In addition, learners can develop time management skills when given a fixed test time. Taking mathematics for example, students need to learn how to solve equations by themselves, and taking formal exams is the most effective way to test students’ problem-solving abilities. However, relying solely on one or two formal exams can miss out on other important aspects of learning. Many subjects such as lab work, project design, real-life management and corporation, rely on step-by-step planning, thinking and teamwork. Those abilities are highly valued and necessary for students’ development which cannot be assessed simply by using exams. The course work which involves developing students’ creativity, innovative ability, management or networking skills should not be limited to any examination format within a one or two-hour short time frame. In conclusion, formal exams are a fair system to test individual students’ learning in some subjects. However, there are other crucial learning abilities such as creativity, innovation, management and networking skills cannot be assessed solely based on one or two exams.