In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative situation?

Currently, in many countries, owning a home rather than renting one is important for many people. I believe this helps to maintain their financial status in society. However, it can be seen as a negative effect that many have to depend on housing loans as a result of that. By owning a home, people can show off their status. Nowadays, the price of houses is increasing day by day. As a result of that, people have to spend quite a lot of money in order to own a house. Because of the higher prices of houses, people of high or middle income are capable of owning one. As an example, in Sri Lankan society, for men, owning a home under their name is a critical factor in being selected as a groom, and even women consider those men capable of giving them a comfortable life. However, owning a house is about spending a large sum of money. Because of that, many people have to take out housing loans with high interest rates. At the end, they have to pay interest for their entire lives just to own a house. Not only for that, but even for the maintenance and renovations, people have to spend quite a lot of money from their income. As an example, some years later, the design of the house goes out of fashion. As a result of that, the house owner has to update it by spending a large sum of money. In conclusion, even though in many counties, owning a home helps to show off their financial status, it leads to many negative effects at the end.