in a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend sums of money on the construction of new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. other believe that money should be spent on improving existing public transport discuss both views and give your opinion

Infrastructure is one of the vital facilities in the country that should be continuously improved. While some people see that governments should invest more in building additional railway lines, others believe that improving the existing public transport is a priority. This essay will discuss both views and address why I advocate the second one. On the one hand, funding the construction of new railways for fast trains will bring many benefits not only to the public but also to the economy of the country. Trains as a way of traveling between cities are fast, convenient, and cost-effective; the passenger will reach his destination while saving much time and money especially those who are commuting for work or study. Additionally, trains can be used to transport cargo from ports to many different parts of the country, subsequently, this will refresh the economic flow in the country. However, I believe that most of the investment should be directed toward the improvement of public transportation due to vital and more effective advantages that can be gained. Works to improve public transport such as road refurbishment, increasing the number of traffic lights and roundabouts, and bus renewing will encourage more people to use public transportation rather than their own cars which in turn will result in significant relief in traffic congestion due to drop in the number of vehicles in the road. Subsequently, the amount of carbon dioxide that is released by the engines of these vehicles will decrease and lower the negative effect on the environment. In conclusion, although building new railway systems could be advantageous to the public and the country, I see that improving public transportation is more crucial and adds more positives including reducing traffic congestion and lowering air pollution.