In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this . You should write at least 250 words.

In some regions, young adults are motivated to work or travel for a year between ending secondary education and starting tertiary education. There are many pros and cons regarding young people making such a decision. Shedding a light on whether students would take a gap year to travel or work before starting university, there are lots of advantages to discuss. To start with, taking the time to travel before college improves the personality. To clarify, travelling exposes the individual to various cultures giving the chance to deal with different people with a completely unusual mindset, as well as helping the person learn new languages. Furthermore, working before university develops the character and builds several important life skills that are not taught in class. To explain, working teaches you the value of money and how hard it is to earn it making you more responsible, mature, and independent in life. However, the river has another side where also the disadvantages should be taken into consideration. Firstly, if the student does not set up goals it will potentially be a waste of time. For example, the person should have everything planned ahead or else it might go wrong to end up realising you have wasted a year of your life in nothing. In addition to that, the student might lose the desire to return back to studies. To simplify, if you enjoy your time away too much you may lose the interest in getting back to your normal studies or career. In a nutshell, There are multiple positives and negatives to doing activities for a year between the last year of high school and the first year of university. I believe that it is important to learn life skills which are not taught in books as it is very beneficial to the individual and the society.