Some people believe that when designing a building, the most important thing to be considered is the function rather than the outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that when planning the construction of a building, the structure and functioning are more important than the aspect. This essay agrees with this statement because safetiness of the building is the principal and they should serve their purpose. If individuals when deciding to create a building only think about the external aspect, this can be dangerous. This is because all buildings should be constructed in a way that is safe and won’t cause any harm, so accidents won’t happen. Some individuals just want a good-looking building, no matter how it is made, and they forget about the important elements of the building, this can cause the destruction of it at any time. For instance, all buildings have a main part, which can be a column or a wall which supports all the buildings and if this is demolished, then all the buildings will be pulled down. The structure is designed to cater to a specific purpose. People want to construct a building because they need it for something specific. Then depending on what is planned to be used for, the design of the building is different so it can ensure that it fulfills all its actions, as each construction is not the same. For example, tsunamis often occur in Japan, so their buildings are built in a way that can resist these catastrophes so they can’t be knocked down when disasters happen. In conclusion, buildings should be constructed in a way that is secure and satisfies the reason why they are created, and I therefore, believe that a building’s function is more important.