There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

It is generally known that music holds an indispensable position for our mentality. There is a wide range of explanations for the necessity of music. Personally, I hold the perception that the traditional music of a country, compared with foreign music, is definitely more invaluable. It is undoubted that music is of necessity for human’s lives. First of all, music is considered as an efficiently recreational activity for people after a long day of hard work. Students and officers nowadays have to suffer from an enormous amount of stress from their study and work. As a matter of fact, music allows them to refresh their own moods and to be full of beans. Secondly, music is highly appreciated for its representation of culture and custom of a country. For instance, Vietnamese folk songs vividly convey how industrious Vietnamese is to introduce to international visitors. From my perspective, the value of the traditional music overweighs that of the international one which is widely listened to by a vast majority of young people, especially teenagers all over the world. Despite the fact that hit songs are eventful, catchy and bring us enthusiasm, they have no virtuous or meaningful messages. The traditional music, meanwhile, passes historical and traditional values on the fellow generations, which reminds them of patriotism and national proudness. Moreover, International music has recently been used for commercial purposes to gain a reputation for entertainment companies or celebrities, it has no value at all in the long run. In conclusion, music plays a vital part in life and I strongly believe that the role of the traditional music should be recognized than that of the international music.