Some people say that students who achieve the highest scores in their exams should be awarded. Others say that those who show progress should be rewarded instead. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Proponents argue that the exam toppers must be recognised by their schools, whereas opponents believe in awarding students who show significant development. In my view of thinking, it is hard to achieve a drastic change in two results and hence, such pupils must receive recognition over the winners. However, a token of appreciation is a morale booster for the top scorer and there are many benefits of this for their schools also. On the one hand, awarding the number one student is a practice that provides inspiration to many other classmates to gain more marks in further exams. Consequently, the quality of competition and percentage of development may increase to some extent, Moreover, learners enjoy the perk of being toppers in their classes, which definitely boosts their confidence in certain aspects. Additionally, schools could showcase their outcomes to gain more popularity as well as special grants from governments. Many coaching centres in my area, for instance, are advertising their highest achievers to attract many other potential admissions, and they always reward their toppers with certain items or waive their fees. On the other hand, it is certainly not easy to reach good grades from the average level for any tutee. Admittedly, it out blood, sweat and tears to acquire an entirely higher segment of the result class for anyone. Therefore, it will be welcomed by all if we start rewarding those who show quick progress in their academics. To be more specific, this advancement should be calculated from the difference between current and recent academic scores of kids. For example, my nephew, who is in 8th class currently, was encouraged and awarded by his father, who is also a teacher, for his considerable rise in exam performance of 7th standard, and today he is a class topper. In conclusion, although appreciating top achievers of the exam is a necessary thing for education centres, those who step forward drastically from their result, are more important for accelerating their momentum in learning.