In many societies, there is a growing emphasis on individualism, with people prioritizing their personal goals and desires over collective interests. Is this is a positive or negative development?

Worldwide the individualism is rising, people focus just in personal goals and prefer isolation than life in society. I believe that extreme individuality can be a negative development for collective interests and personal health. Some of my reasons will be explored in the remainder of this essay. Comunity cohesion is an important resource for human society. Firstly, human begins evolved as a social group and this aspect allowed us move from stone age to modern world. What is more, this capacity to arrange and work together to solve a common issue is the key of successful. For example, in the Ecuadorian Amazon, indigenous communities fighting with oil companies in order to protect the amazon forest. This is posible beacuse this groups priorizining the common interestes over personal goals. Clearly, the comunity cohesion is valuable resource that allow some comunities achived achieve goals in favor of individuals. Another key issue of extrem individualism is the mental health consequences that this can bring. To begin with, as social animal humans need the interactions with other people. Both in the acient times, when people needed to survive in wild world and today when we need to avoid depression this touch is necessary. To illustrate this, nowadays younger people avoid face-to-face relationships in favor of inreacting through social media, as a consequence these individuals live in isolation. This phenomenon lead today to an epidemic of metal health issues worlwide. So, individualism can contribute in a negative way to mental health. In conclusion, I admit that personal goals and desires are important for personal development, but the believe that growing as society with emphasis on individualism will increase our problems.