Today children are spending much more time watching TV compared to the past. Is this a positive or a negative change ?

Over the last two or three decades, the way children spend their time has changed dramatically due to advancements in technology. As a result, they tend to spend more and more time watching cartoons and playing video games in the comfort of their home. Though, I understand the positive implications of this change, it does more harm than good because staying at home is not good for the overall development of children. To commence with, spending more time in front of a screen is harmful to kids because it becomes a barrier to the physical, moral and psychological development of children. In addition, watching TV programs restricts their capacity to think out of the box which influences their mental health negatively. Moreover, sitting at home doesn't enhance their communication and moral skills as they are not in touch with the outer world. Another worth considering factor is the sedentary lifestyle of children while using screen time at home because it makes them lazy and sick. Furthermore, it would have adverse effects on their health because of no physical activity. For instance, it is widely acknowledged that kids who spend more time playing outside are healthier and fitter than kids who just watch cartoons or video games at home. On the other hand, the use of mobile phones or TV in a proper way can be beneficial for students to learn educational content and enhance their knowledge. Moreover, it can improve their auditory and visual skills and could help to concentrate better. To conclude, Although kids can learn some useful information from the internet, I believe it makes them inactive and lazy and doesn't contribute to the overall development of children.