Many voung people these days choose to live alone instead of living with other family members. Do the advantages of this practice outweigh any of its disadvantages?

Today, there are a number of young individuals who prefer to live on their own rather than staying with their family members in a single household. While there are negative effects associated with this tendency among the youth, I am of the view that there are more benefits related to this trend compared to its drawbacks. Admittedly, those who live alone do not get to have a strong support system. Living away from their family members or relatives, they usually do not have anyone to turn to for help during difficult or trying times. As a result, many young individuals who live by themselves often experience feelings of isolation and depression. However, it can be argued that there are more advantages young people can get when they choose to live on their own. For one, they become more independent, as they are usually free to decide on their own, making them less reliant on other people. This lack of direct supervision from older people, while generally perceived to be a negative setup, actually brings out the best in young individuals and helps them become more responsible, mature, proactive, and decisive. In addition, those who live by themselves tend to learn a lot of new skills while living independently. As they are compelled to do everything on their own and take responsibility for their survival, they acquire many useful life skills. In effect, they gain an increased level of self-confidence and become more prepared to overcome whatever challenges life throws at them with a more optimistic and tenacious outlook. In summary, there are legitimate reasons to believe that living alone can be an isolating experience for some. However, from my point of view, there are much greater benefits young people can get from this kind of living arrangement.