In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

With the advent of technology, the present of new developments has become a widely debated topic. While many people believe that the invention of self-driving vehicles can benefit everyone, others maintain that it has negative effects. Given that driverless vehicles are able to save manpower and extend service time, I strongly agree that they should have more advantages than drawbacks. To start with, the most obvious benefit of having no driver vehicles is that we can solve manpower problems related to public transport. It is because buses, taxis, and trucks do not need people to drive anymore, so no one would complain about the salary and working hours. The boss can increase the bus route and the number of trucks easily. One striking example is that during the COVID period, a large number of truck drivers were quarantined because of the disease, thus the transport of products to supermarkets was affected due to a lack of manpower. As a result, it caused lots of financial damage. Furthermore, the goodness of non-human driving is that it can work unlimited hours. Hence, it can boost overall economic development. For instance, we used to go back home before the closure of public transport; if it offered service 24 hours per day, we could go out to consume more. Consequently, more shops can do more business to promote economic development. Although there were some car accidents that were caused by the function of auto-driving at this moment, I believe that is the only drawback for the driverless vehicle. No doubt, it can be solved in the future. To sum up, having discussed the advantages of having driverless transportation for reducing financial loss by neglecting manpower problems and enhancing economic growth by extending working hours, I firmly believe that the benefits must outweigh the disadvantages.