In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years it has become normal for people to live alone, particularly in large cities in the developed world. In my point of view, this trend among the youth could have both positive and negative consequences in equal measures. The rise in single households can be seen as beneficial for both personal and broader economic causes. Admittedly, those who choose to live alone may become more independent and self-reliant than those who live with family members or relatives. For example, a young adult while living alone will need to learn to cook, clean, pay bills, and manage his or her budget, all of which are useful and valuable life skills. From an economic perspective, the trend towards living alone will give rise to demand for housing. This is likely to benefit the construction industry, estate agencies and a whole host of other companies. However, the personal and economic arguments given above can be considered from the opposite angle. Firstly, rather than the positive feeling of increased independence, people who live on their own may experience feelings of loneliness, isolation, worry and depression. They miss out on the emotional support and daily conversation that family and flatmates can provide, and they must bear the weight of all household bills and responsibilities; in this sense, perhaps the trend towards living alone is a negative one. Secondly, from the financial view, a growth in demand for housing is likely to push up property prices and accommodation rents. While this may benefit some businesses, the wider cover of people, including those who live by themselves, will be faced with rising living costs. In conclusion, the increase in one-person households will have both beneficial and detrimental effects on individuals and on the economy.