The crime rates nowadays are decreasing compared to the past due to advance technology which can prevent and solve crime. Do you agree or disagree?

Due to evolving technology, it is said that the amount of crimes have been lessened compared to the numbers we have in the past. I disagree with this notion, because with the number of killings and stealings that is happening at the moment around the world, no surveillance cameras and smartphones have evidently stopped these wrongdoings, in contrast in the past, it has gone to worse. Nowadays, despite being filmed by many people, youngsters nonchalantly stab random strangers because of boredom. Even though they are broadcasted all over the world, the lack of education and weak punishments from law, will not stop these young people from doing such acts. It appears to me that if the government would not bestow heavier sunctions functions sections to young criminals in today's time, such as imprisonment, they will not understand the weight of stabbing someone and losing their lives. Another reason why I believe that technology, such as CCTV is not as effective in reducing the rates of crime is because supermarkets in many places are declaring to experience losses in profit because of shoplifters. This is a familiar scene in Melbourne, Victoria, wherein Woolworths, one of the popular supermarkets, have police in their self check-out counters. This is because criminals still manage to steal items despite the cameras in each counter. In conclusion, Although the advancement of technology provided security and records on people in various ways compared in the past. In my opinion, it did not specifically reduced the crime rates as evident to the increasing numbers of stabbing of children and shoplifting incidents in many food centres.