The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s live. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

The most important goal of science should be to enhance human life. I disagree with this statement because I believe that focusing only on human aspects could lead to harm to our mother earth and we should consider using science for protecting our nature and other beings. Science is greatly improving people’s lives, but it takes a big cost from our living nature. This is because the improvement and development of humanity are consuming a lot of natural resources such as water, soil, and even our forest. For example, 30% of the total jungle in Indonesia had been burned down due to the high demand for creating agricultural crops to achieve food security. Although this development greatly contributes to folks’ lives, this could be harmful to planet Earth which could lead to catastrophic events. On the other hand, it is known that nature also could improve the environment and other living things. With the support of STEM, we could easily help to preserve endangered animals. For example, there were only 100 pandas that roamed the land of China 10 years ago and got endangered status, but then the scientists assisted them and the number started to skyrocket to 1000 this year. Furthermore, science could also balance the needs of boosting humans' lives while also not risking the environment, for instance in Indonesia there are groups of scientists who create a jungle filled with food crops for humans while leaving no harm to animals' houses. To conclude, although science is boosting folks’ lives, I believe that it would be better to preserve nature and help other living things other than humans to protect Mother Earth.