In many countries, students' concentration in the classroom has decreased. What are the reasons for this? What are some possible solutions?

The concentration ability of students has seen a decrease across nations around the globe. There are two main causes, increased access to different entertainment streams and the rising number of subjects in school settings. Possible solutions would be to restrict streaming media and encourage practical-based learning approach as the key to addressing the weakening student attention to curriculum. One of the reasons that school children see waning attention to classroom studies is increased access to different forms of media. Owing to increased access to cheap internet along with various television streaming services, students have an increased probability of divulging themselves to distractions such as cartoons or adult content. For instance, as per Oxford’s research in 2020, average high-school students ’ grades have dropped by whooping 25% from that of 2015. To tackle this issue, parents need to be vigilant of the content being viewed by their kids at home or on personal laptops, as this has a direct correlation to the discussions with their friends, which ultimately affects their attention to lectures upfront. A reduction in access to adult content and more exposure to educational video content will prove wonders for their career development. Another problem that needs to be considered is enhanced educational pressure when dealing with an increased quantity of subjects. As a result of more subjects, students are required to work more diligently for exams and homework which will, in the long run, cause severe mental strain and physical burnout. One possible solution is to enforce only the core subjects to students, while electives should be offered as an opportunity to deepen their understanding towards interested fields. Moreover, more visual and practical learning is needed to keep students engaged during the lectures. For instance, students have seen an 18% rise in the concentration levels evaluated by quizzes when education animations were shown for schooling purposes. In conclusion, the dwindling concentration of students in classes is caused because of distractions caused by different entertainment options and a pressure to handle multiple subjects all at once. Keeping an eye on students ' internet and television activity by their parents, along with practical-based learning will help in addressing the waning concentration of students in their classrooms.