More and more couples are deciding to be "child-free", to have no children, in other words. Some people claim that those couples reach this conclusion through entirely selfish reasons. While others think that they came to this decision through noble motives, such as concern about overpopulation and desire for independence. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an ever-increasing number of couples who are inferring not to have children, which is called “ child-free ”. It is often argued that this is because of selfish purposes. However, some people believe that these " child-free " phenomena are due to noble reasons, such as considering overpopulation and the wish for a free lifestyle. In this essay, I discuss both views and give my personal opinion. In this era, many couples do not want to have a baby because the cost of having a baby is more expensive. In Jakarta, for example, the estimated cost of raising a child until he graduates from university is IDR 800 million. Thus, it can be a huge financial burden for the couple. Furthermore, they have to allocate their time and effort to raise the child. In order to save money, time, and energy, they decide to have no children or be “ child-free ”. In line with this statement, it is perhaps the reason why some people believe that “ child-free ” families are selfish. On the other hand, other people claim that “ child-free ” is a noble choice because " child-free " couples are rated with concern about overpopulation issues. People become more and more crowded, which causes harm to the environment. Jakarta, for instance, as the most crowded city in Indonesia, has become one of the most environmentally problematic cities like pollution, the accumulation of rubbish, and floods. Moreover, some people think that “ child-free couples want to be more independent, which is a good choice. However, there are negative impacts of being child-free, such as depression and anxiety caused by loneliness and a lack of emotional and physical support in old age. To sum up, even though the reason and motivation for being child-free are noble, marriage people should consider having a child as they would need assistance from their children when they grow older, especially for mental well-being.